Stew Miller Musings and Rants
I Complain (Oh, and Doodle), You Read and/or Comment, Everyone is Happy… IT’S SO SIMPLE!

“Thanks For The Sour Persimmons, Cousin!”

Daffy Duck said that during one of his most famous cartoons where, as it turns out in the end, Bugs Bunny was endlessly tormenting him by ‘drawing’ him into seemingly impossible situations… even for an illustration. It was almost as if Bugs were ‘playing’ God, at least in Daffy’s little animated world, and the pointless, helpless positions he was putting poor Daffy through finally broke him in the end to where all he could do was to rip up the very cell on which he was drawn and give up. Unfortunately, life is all to similar to this sixty year-old cartoon, and I am beginning to wonder if there isn’t a ‘Bugs Bunny’ doodling my life, too.

Just when you really start to believe that you’ve got it all worked out; you finally think that whatever crap gets slung at you daily can be easily avoided by some quick bobs and weaves, the flood gates bust open like brittle Lincoln Logs. The old saying, “When it rains it pours” is, unfortunately, based on solid scientific evidence. Maybe not meteorologically, per se, but definitely when it comes to the prat falls of those wonderful, unavoidable little surprises that, by their very nature, floor folks for the count. Oh, and how about, “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade”? Yeah, that’s seriously unrealistic, especially since I appear to be out of sugar. What about to old adage, “Every cloud has a silver lining”? Just by taking a glance out the window I can pretty easily surmise that whatever silver linings were ever around, they’ve been tarnished beyond recognition.

Look, I can sit here and pitch a fit all day long, but the real truth of the matter is: it only seems bad for a minute and then, well, the sun manages to fight its way through and things seem to improve. I don’t have any major health issues, my children are all perfectly safe and healthy, I have a wonderful relationship with my wife, we don’t live under a bridge somewhere, I’m not forced to consume waste from a dumpster, and I certainly don’t have any habits that force me to spend most of my time inserting some form of illegal substance into my body. So, when the fog of irritation clears away, life is, for the most part, chugging right along the track of promise. However, I do have another to thank for that.

Despite everything, regardless of all the so-called strife and tribulations, above all else that has seemingly brought a thundering fist down upon my life, God is there. It has often been said that God will never give you more than you can handle. I struggle with that idea so frequently I ought to make it into a T-shirt. How is this even remotely possible? Are you people serious? God will NEVER give you more than you can handle… no damn way. But, it is, thank goodness, all too true. I have a pretty staunch constitution, I can more or less meet the beast head on, as it were, and remain standing just slightly battered and bruised. But God has never forced upon me so much that I can’t sit back, take a breath, and fully admit that it could be SO MUCH WORSE. Of course I get angry, annoyed, and completely pissed off at The Lord as to almost turn my back, but the ever-present Hand of Faith slowly, kindly tugs me back and showers me with that little reassuring jolt or shiver just to remind me that God is there no matter what.

Our van basically exploded over the weekend. That was a REAL bummer to say the least. Yet, when all seemed so dreary, we remembered that our older van had been repaired just a few weeks ago. God had something to do with that, no doubt. The work I had been doing on the weekends at a nameless location (it rhymes with FUR) dried up faster than it had begun. The dark fog started rolling in again, threatening us with its powerful grasp. God stepped in, gave me a heads up on a newer, better job, and gave Amy the foresight to adjust her own work schedule accordingly. He had a hand in it for sure. We get bombarded with some pretty major loads of crap on a regular basis and, even so, through it all, we emerge relatively unscathed and ready to face the next wave. How? Why? God is there. God has always been there for us through such adversity as: two early-birth children, two children having had extended hospital visits due to ill health, perpetual money issues, the ever-looming pit falls of marriage, unemployment for far to extensive time periods, and so many, many more. And because we always fall back into the strong arms of The Lord, we remain hearty, stalwart, and strong through it all.

I guess what I’m ultimately saying is, if you find yourself like I do, right now, on the very brink of tumbling into the yawning chasm of despair, take the Leap of Faith from the lions mouth, believe in the guiding force of The Lord, and God will catch you.

No, admittedly not particularly funny. But you know, sometimes it’s writing truths like this that make me want to be even funnier the next time. Thanks.

Stew

8 Responses to ““Thanks For The Sour Persimmons, Cousin!””

  1. Very good post, Sorry to hear about the van.

    I always lived by the adage “God never gives you more than you can handle” and I believed it with my whole heart until last year.

    I had the worst year ever last year, every turn, every corner we were hit with a new “drama”…From my father having a heart attack on my birthday and needing quadruple bypass surgery, to my sister going into pre-term labor, to my work believing a disgruntled employee who was quitting and nearly getting fired, to almost losing our home to a mortgage we couldn’t afford to having our daughter diagnosed with cancer and needing a life altering surgery to save her, (and she still is in need of lots of surgeries in the near future), to my husband getting demoted and losing nearly $6.00/hr because he needed to take time to get our daughter through the immediate crisis…
    Yes, it all happened in less than a year.

    God gave me WAY MORE than I even knew how to handle. He gave me TONS more than I could ever carry.

    And then he wrapped His arms around me, and carried my load.

  2. Remember God helps those who help themselves- meaning you need to take control and not leave it God to solve problems, but rather guide you to healthy, realistic,self-reliance. This is afforded to you by your maker and is directly related to ones own choices! It is up to individuals to direct their lives based on free will given to us by God. God is watching us! We must make an effort with faith, to improve our own circumstance with God’s blessing. There are two kinds of people. Those who believe that the world controls them, and those who take advantage of determining some of their own destiny.
    -Ones Who Care

  3. Of course, I have put all my faith in the Flying Spaghetti Monster. He never gives me more than I can handle either…although, he never gives me less than I can’t handle either. Actually, come to think of it, he pretty much leaves me to fend for myself. Thanks for nothing, pasta!

  4. I know what you’re saying. God handed me this perfect opportunity to move back to Michigan and be with my family and friends. So far everything is working out perfectly, lets hope things keep going well.

  5. god schmod.

  6. And again…thanks for the sour persimmons cousin

  7. I like persimmons very much actually!

  8. Não houve celebração no teu aniversário no tempo 02 com dezembro com 1891, com a desvio de certa aberto
    celebração da eucaristia, no lugar em que ficou
    acamado e televisor só a acompanhador da filha Isabel, Conde D’Eu bem como os netos. https://www.facebook.com/RioPromoTours/


Leave a Reply

